Introducing the 2021 Driver Group Game


The new and improved Driver Group Game is set to be released for the 2020 NASCAR season. This is one of the most popular Fantasy Games since it replaced the Yahoo Fantasy Racing game a few years ago. If you have not played the Driver Group Game before, you need to check out. The game can be found at (Driver Group Game).

All fantasy players from the 2019 season will be placed into the leagues they were in last year. You will be able to join a new league by using the tabs on the left (click “Join League” to be placed in a new league).

* If you would like to join my league, click here for instructions: Fantasy Racing Tips League


Your game… Your Rues! The Driver Group Game will have new default rules this season but your league commissioner can setup the game however your league would like to play.


Commissioner Tools

Each league commissioner will have a lot more control over their Driver Group Game leagues this season. Commissioners will be able to change which drivers are in each group, change the scoring, change will races are used for the league and remove members from the league.

Customizable Groups will allow the commissioner to decide which drivers are in Group A, Group B and Group C. Commissioners will also be able to customized how many times each driver is used throughout the season. If you want less than the nine default starts, you can change it to 8 or however many you want.

Customizable Scoring will allow the commissioner to change the scoring for their league. If you really liked the scoring system from the previous Driver Group Game or the Yahoo Game, you can remove the Stage Points and change the Qualifying Points to whatever you want for your league. You can also add the Lucky Dog (removes your lowest score) if you want to.

Customizable Races will let each Commissioner choose which races to use for their league. If your league started up late, you could start with the race at Atlanta, Phoenix or Las Vegas or any race you choose. If you want to have a regular season league and a playoff league, commissioners can choose to have their leagues end at Darlington and a new league start at Las Vegas. Commissioners can also have a league of all 1.5-mile tracks, all shorts tracks or whatever they want. It is in your hands.

* If you decide you want to go back to the default settings, the commissioner can simply click on the “Reset League” tab and your league will be put back to the Driver Group Game Default settings.



Default Rules

Each driver is placed in either: Group A, Group B or Group C. The Driver Groups for the 2021 season are:


GROUP A Drivers: Brad Keselowski, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr. and Ryan Blaney

Group B Drivers: Alex Bowman, Aric Amirola, Austin Dillon, Chris Buescher, Christopher Bell, Cole Custer,  Erik Jones, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Matt DiBenedetto, Ryan Newman, Tyler Reddick  and William Byron

Group C Drivers: Austin Cindric, Bubba Wallace, Chase Briscoe, Corey LaJoie, Daniel Suarez, David Ragan, Jamie McMurray, Michael McDowell, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ross Chastain, Ryan Preece and any driver not in Groups A or B.


Each team can use a driver NINE TIMES during the season. Once you run out of allocations with the driver, he will not score any points for your team.

NASCAR eliminated practice and qualifying from most of the races in 2021. Teams will select one driver from Group A, two drivers from Group B and one driver from Group C for the 29 races without qualifying (Daytona 500, Homestead, Las Vegas, Phoenix, Atlanta, Martinsville, Richmond, Talladega, Kansas, Darlington, Dover, Sonoma, Pocono (2 races), Atlanta, New Hampshire, Watkins Glen, Michigan, Daytona, Darlington, Richmond, Bristol, Las Vegas, Talladega, Charlotte Roval, Texas and Martinsville). You will not have any bench drivers from these races. The entire field will be your bench and you can switch drivers in-and-out of your lineup until the race starts.

There will be seven races with qualifying in 2021. These races include: Daytona Road Course, Bristol (Dirt), Circuit of the Americas, Coca-Cola 600, Nashville, Road America and Indianapolis Road Course. Each team will select two drivers from Group A, four drivers from Group B and two drivers from Group C for these seven races. Each team will earn qualifying points for all eight drivers. Only the drivers you have in your starting position will earn points for where they finish the race and where they finish in the Stage. You will only lose allocations from the drivers in your starting lineup.

Do not worry about knowing which races you need bench drivers and which races you do not need them. The website is setup so that the races with bench drivers will have a drop-down box for you to add your bench drivers.

The rest of the game is scored the same way it has been in the past. You can check out how a driver earns points by checking out the Driver Group Game Rules



For more information about the rules and different ways to set up your Driver Group Game leagues, visit the Rules Page.


If you have any questions please use the Contact tab on the Dashboard of the site or find me on Twitter @MrFantasyNASCAR